Different Types Of Vegetarian Diets
What are the different types of vegetarians?
Breatharian This is more a non-diet as breatharians believe they can survive without eating at all, getting the nutrients and energy their bodies need from the air they breathe.
Fruitarians eat only foods of plant origin that can be obtained without killing the plant: fruits, nuts and seeds, for example. A fruitarian eats vegetables that are actually classified as fruits such as avocados, nuts, seeds, eggplant, zucchini and tomatoes. Fruitarians believe only plant foods that can be harvested without killing the plant should be eaten.
Essenes are followers of Jesus Christ, in that they believe that Jesus was a member of the Essene sect, and a raw food vegetarian. The Essene diet is a raw food diet of raw sprouts, wheatgrass, vegetables, and fruit. Use of raw dairy is explicitly authorized by the Essene gospels, so the diet is often lacto-vegetarian rather than vegan. Many Essenes use fermented dairy products, specifically yogurt.
Raw or Living Food Diet One who follows a raw food diet is a person who for the most part only eats raw foods that are not cooked. One who follows this type of diet believes that cooking changes food in a negative way and makes it less nutritious, diminishing the vitamin and mineral contents of the food. Most people who follow a raw-food diet only eat between 50% to 80% of their food raw. There is some logic to a raw food diet in the fact that cooking food destroys nutrients. But cooking food on the other hand makes foods easier to digest, which often offsets the anti-nutritional factors. Raw Fooder one whose diet is raw foods. In theory this could include meat. However, it is usually a vegan diet and can also be lacto-vegetarian, so long as the dairy foods eaten are raw.
Pure Vegetarians / Religion vegetarians /Lacto-vegetarians/ Lactose-Vegetarians are strict vegetarians who may consume milk and dairy products (optional) . Strictly No meat, no fishes, no eggs, no onion and no garlic. Lacto comes from the Latin word for milk.
Vegans don't eat any products of animal origin. This includes not only meat, but also dairy products (milk, butter, cheese), eggs and even honey. Many vegans do eat onion and garlic. The strictest vegans don't wear leather, wool or silk and also avoid health and beauty products made with ingredients derived from animals -- for instance, lip balm with bees wax or skin creams with lanolin (an oil extracted from sheep's wool). Although some people who choose a vegan diet do so because they are allergic or insensitive to dairy products or eggs, most choose veganism because of ethical concerns. Most vegans have a deep commitment to ending the exploitation and mistreatment of animals. The term vegan, formed from first three and last two letters of the word veg etari an , was coined in London in 1944 by seven vegetarians who founded the Vegan Society.
Ovo-vegetarians are people who still eat eggs(meat). Ovo from the Latin word for egg.
Lacto-ovo-vegetarians / Ovo-Lacto-vegetarians are those who eat both dairy products and eggs(meat).
Macrobiotics A macrobiotic diet is mainly vegetarian, but macrobiotic diets often include seafood. In this diet all other meat products are excluded, as are eggs and dairy products. They also do not eat "nightshade vegetables" (potato, pepper and eggplant), refined sugar and tropical fruits. This diet contains many foods found in Asian countries such as miso soup, root vegetables (daikon and lotus) and sea vegetables (seaweed, kelp, arame). It emphasizes eating locally grown foods that are in season. Meals consist of 50% to 60% grains, 25% locally grown produce, and the rest of the diet mainly consists of beans and soups. In lesser amounts fruits, nuts and seeds are eaten. This diet is based on the Chinese principles of yin and yang. Some people follow this diet as a philosophy of life and others follow it for health reasons.
Demi-vegetarians don't eat red meat or poultry, but they do eat fish, eggs.
Flexitarians - people who reduce meat eating but still eat meat, fish, or eggs(meat).
Pescetarians / Pesco-Vegetarians / Pesce-Vegetarians eat a vegetarian diet but also consume fish. Pescetarians may avoid red meat and poultry because they do not want to support factory farming or other inhumane methods of raising animals. For many people making the transition to vegetarianism, pescetarianism is a stage along the way to an entirely meatless diet.
Pollo-Vegetarians eat poultry, such as chicken, turkey, and duck.
Meat Restrictors avoid red meat, but may eat fish and poultry.
A person who still eats fish occasionally.
Someone who has chosen to eat marine animals, but for some reason chosen to spare other non-human animals.
Vegetarian Sympathizers - Folks who do eat meat, fish, and chicken --- but perhaps much less than they once did, and perhaps more carefully (they may choose organically raised meats). They lean somewhat towards a low- or no-meat way in their thinking. Frequently Sympathizers and Pesces are on the continuum towards a lacto- or vegan way of eating.
Partial, occasional, casual, transitional and social vegetarians As the media releases more and more reports on the health benefits of a vegetarian diet, the number of people who are curious about vegetarianism continues to grow. Many of these people choose to reduce their meat intake instead of eliminating meat from their diet altogether. They may choose to give up just red meat, or they may only eat meat when they know it comes from small-scale producers who treat their livestock humanely. They may want to eat a stricter vegetarian diet but are temporarily prevented from doing so -- for instance, parents with non-vegetarian children who aren't ready to become vegetarians. Or they may eat a vegetarian diet with at home with vegetarian friends or family members and only eat meat when they're out with non-vegetarian friends.
Hong Kong Vegetarian